COA Commissioner Pondoc receives Presidential Citation for 2017 ASEAN hosting; Institutional Award from the University of Mindanao

Published: 11 December 2018
COA Commissioner Roland C. Pondoc receives the Presidential Citation for his contribution to the success of the Philippine hosting of the 2017 ASEAN Summit.

Commission on Audit (COA) Commissioner Roland C. Pondoc was among Philippine officials and agencies recognized by President Rodrigo R. Duterte for their contribution to the successful chairmanship of the Philippines for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Summit in 2017. The awarding ceremony was held at the Heroes Hall of Malacañan Palace on 3 December 2018.

Commissioner Pondoc also received the Institutional Award from his Alma Mater, the University of Mindanao, in recognition of his remarkable involvement in the field of Public Service, given during the baccalaureate program at the university on 4 December 2018. It is the most prestigious award handed by the university to its alumni.

As part of the ASEAN 2017 National Organizing Committee, Commissioner Pondoc served as the Assistant Deputy Director General for the Administration and Logistics/Finance for the entire period of the ASEAN 2017 Hosting of Summits and Related Meetings. He was directly in-charge of all logistic requirements of each conducted meeting regardless of location and the number of delegates, both foreign and local. He was also in charge of carefully and critically monitoring the proper utilization of the budget intended for the said events.

Meanwhile, the University of Mindanao noted Commissioner Pondoc’s role as COA Commissioner “manifests excellence in leadership and active citizenship upholding economic development and nation building, thus giving honor and prestige to his Alma Mater.”

Commissioner Pondoc gave valuable insights and experiences inspiring the graduating class as guest speaker during the university’s baccalaureate program. #

Commissioner Roland C. Pondoc receives the Institutional Award from the University of Mindanao during their baccalaureate program on 4 December 2018.