CARE Party tops PhilGASEA election

Published: 13 July 2023


Chairperson Gamaliel A. Cordoba administers the oath-taking of the newly elected officers of the Philippine Government Audit Service Employees Association.

The Philippine Government Audit Service Employees Association (PhilGASEA), the Commission on Audit’s employees association, held its national election recently. The COA Alliance for Reform and Empowerment (CARE) party won all the National Executive Council positions over the Ambagan Unity party. The new officers shall serve the unfinished term of the previous PhilGASEA officers which will end on December 2024.

CARE Party’s standard bearer, Mr. Edgardo Lamberto L. Ramos of the Office of the Assistant Commissioner, Administration Sector (AS) won over Ambagan Unity Party’s Mr. Nelson S. Macatangay of the Technical Services Office (TSO), Systems and Technical Services Sector (STSS) to become PhilGASEA’s new president. Mr. Lamberto said that he would continue the projects started by the previous set of PhilGASEA officers and might introduce new projects that would benefit not only the PhilGASEA members but also all members of the COA community.

“As the sole and exclusive representative of all rank-and-file employees of the COA, the new PhilGASEA officers will continue to advocate for the protection of our members’ rights and will introduce projects that will benefit all COA employees,” Mr. Lamberto said.

Chairperson Gamaliel A. Cordoba administered the oath taking of the new PhilGASEA officers on 2 May 2023. It was witnessed by the PhilGASEA Board of Directors Members Dr. Eden M. Dimaculangan and Atty. Kristine G. Oldan-Uy, PhilGASEA Chief of Staff Rogie B. Bantula, former PhilGASEA President, CARE National President and SAO Director Haide T. Espuelas, and CARE Party member Mr. Alejandro P. Gementera.

Here is the complete result of the election:

Position Candidate No. of Votes Obtained
President Edgardo Lamberto L. Ramos
Office of the Assistant Commissioner,
Administration Sector
Nelson s. Macatangay, Technical Service Office (TSO),
Systems and Technical Services Sector (STSS)
Vice President Engr. Laurence T. Tato, TSO, STSS 1355
Gemma Fe M. Macasero-Llanes
Medical and Dental Unit (MDU)
Administration Sector (AS)
Secretary Rhodora D. Jegira
General Services Office, AS
Mark Christopher W. Lagera
Human Resource Management Office, AS
Treasurer George S. Tamayo, Jr.
Fraud Audit Office
Special Services Sector
Maria Careen R. Recio
Public Information Office
Auditor Jocelyn S. Nokom
Cluster 3, National Government Audit Sector (no contender)
Public Relations Officer Jane Hazel M. Guiriba
Claims and Adjudication Office-Local
Commission Proper Adjudication Sector
Dr. Karlo A. Cayetano, MDU, AS 865


From left to right: Mr. Rogie B. Batulan, PhilGASEA Chief of Staff; Atty. Kristine G. Oldan-Uy, PhilGASEA BOD Member; Mr. Alejandro P. Gementera; Dr. Eden M. Dimaculangan, PhilGASEA BOD Chairman; Director Haide T. Espuelas; COA Chairperson Gamaliel A. Cordoba; Mr. Edgardo “Gary” Lamberto L. Ramos, President; Engr. Laurence T. Tato, Vice President; Ms. Rhodora D. Jegira, Secretary; Mr. George S. Tamayo, Jr., Treasurer; Ms. Jocelyn S. Nokom, Auditor; and Ms. Jane Hazel M. Guiriba, Public Relations Officer.